Your mom was right about the carrots.

It has been almost ten years since my last eye exam. I know the statistics, I know that most people my age need glasses and that I am nearing an age where almost EVERYONE experiences vision changes. So with a great sigh, I checked my pride and started looking at cute frames for my face. I asked for recommendations via social media and scheduled an appointment with a doctor who was recommended by many. This high tech office uses a scan called the optomap that shows the most detailed view of your eye, even the back of your eye. It shows things that cannot be detected in a regular eye exam, including cancer, stroke, early signs of blindness, and cardiovascular issues. I was definitely more than a little nervous at those possible results (my doctor asked why I was nervous and what my symptoms were; my reply was simply: “I have eyes”). But I decided to opt for the optoscan and see what I was dealing with.

As I was taken through the stations, asked to read this and whether one was better than the other, my heart raced. For some reason, I was genuinely spazzing over this. The happy news was that because I had the optoscan, I only needed my eyes dilated if the doctor felt he needed to look at something.

2014-11-13_1541-e1415911190615
Not my eye but a view of the optoscan

Once my optometrist assistant was finished with her assessments, the doctor walked in; he was a kind, open guy who put me at least a little more at ease. He pulled my eye balls up on the computer and I was shocked at how beautiful the scan looked, almost like a planet or a piece of weird art. He explained what we were looking at and told me my eyes were perfect, everything looked great. There were no indicators of cancer, my vessels looked great (so heart healthy), no macular degeneration or other concerns. This meant there was no need for dilation or for glasses; my vision was 20/20 which is unusual once you pass 30 and head close to 40.  I told him I ate 1/2 cup of carrots everyday, he laughed and then realized I was serious (how many people actually eat a 1/2 cup of cooked carrots every single day?).

I asked Why carrots work.… the beta-carotene (which I called beta carrot-teen when I was little) turns into vitamin A which our bodies (especially our eyes) need. Without enough vitamin A, cataracts can develop, macular degeneration begins. People who eat diets high in meat or processed foods but low in foods containing Vitamin A can easily find themselves deficient. It is also important to eat the dark leafy veggies because they help eye health too. And hey, it can’t hurt! (I am the only person in my family, including extended family) who does not wear glasses. I eat carrots, yall. Everyday. Carrots. Mmmmm carrots.

Then I wanted to know if my mum’s threats of going blind because I read in the dark were true. As far as reading in the dark or low light? That doesn’t really hurt our eyes. BUT, if you work in front of a computer all day then you should definitely invest in a pair of computer glasses that help reduce the glare and block the blue light from your computer screen. While a lighter user (one who only checks email or is online for a short time each day) would not SEE the benefits (see what I did there- and again there?), someone exposed for extended amounts of time would do themselves a favor in investing in a pair (they can be rather inexpensive).

One thing he did caution: Sunglasses are not just a fashion statement! One thing we should ALL do is wear sunglasses every time you go outside during the day. Even on an overcast day, your eyes are attacked by the glare.

If you find night driving uncomfortable, there are night glasses that can help reduce the glare.

GET YOUR EYE EXAM! I know, I have no business preaching that after my ten year absence but I blame it on ignorance. I had no idea how much new technology can diagnose and how many serious illnesses and diseases can be detected through a thorough eye exam. They’re covered by most insurances and it is well worth the time. It’s even faster if you do not have to get dilated!

Watch your weight because obesity can contribute to high blood pressure, diabetes, and a host of other problems that directly affect your eyes.

Keep your hands out of your eyes. We get it, your eyes itch during allergy season, it feels good if you rub them when you are stressed or tired, sometimes you have something in there and you need to wipe it out. Your eyes are one of the easiest entries for germs and bacteria, if you HAVE to touch them, wash your hands first.

Be gentle with the false lashes and cheap eye makeup. This goes without saying but these are not doing your peepers any favors.

Baby oil is the best eye makeup remover.

Wash your contacts well and do not wear them longer than recommended. It’s not just the companies trying to get you to buy more product, you can get really sick or contract a bad infection.

Keep eating your carrots kids, they really do work!

One thought on “Your mom was right about the carrots.

Leave a comment