Easy, creamy Maple Fudge

Mmmmmmm! Maple fudge is one of those special little tastes of heaven that is vastly underrated and often shunned for the more popular peanut butter or chocolate fudges. Most people will also think of rocky road, chocolate with nuts, and even vanilla fudge. But make no mistake, maple fudge has a place in your fudge rotation, it’s the one people don’t realize they need in their lives until you make it. Maple is truly the unsung hero of fudges. Now some people have called my maple fudge a praline fudge, and I have to admit it DOES taste very similar to a thick, nutless praline. When done well, it’s creamy and decadent, light and so satisfying. But if not measured properly and stirred constantly, you’ll wind up with gritty or flakey fudge that will leave you saying, “OH FUDGEY NUGGETS!” If you measure properly and follow these instructions, you’re going to WOW your guests and have them begging for more batches. 

The first time I tried maple fudge was at the Louisiana Renaissance Festival, creamy, decadent, an ahhhmazing break from the cliche peanut butter or chocolate fudges sold everywhere. I’ve always adored maple ANYTHING so it’s no wonder that after tasting this little slice of perfection, I had to try to replicate it myself and after many, many batches of trial and perfecting, I’m really happy with what I came up with. I bring it to friends at Christmas and as little tokens of appreciation for people who make me happy throughout the year. Sweet friends deserve sweet treats. This is so fast and easy and if you’re looking for a SUPER DUPER special treat, make this one in addition to my chocolate and peanut butter fudges (also posted on my blog), then cut them into squares, roll them into balls, melt Ghirardelli milk chocolate (also posted on my blog) and make assorted home made chocolates (so much better than the boxed chocolates).

One of the best parts of making this fudge is that it makes the entire house smell divine. If you need something last minute to take to an event, a friend’s house, or show thanks go someone, maple fudge takes no time to make, and you probably have all of the ingredients at home.

The entire fudge making process takes about 15 minutes from set up to pour. It takes longer to dry of course, and like pralines, a drier day is better than a rainy or really humid one. The fudge just sets better. I know it feels like a myth, but when you’re dealing with 98% humidity, ya sha that much extra moisture in the air matters. I find if I fix any candy on a day with a lower-than-70% humidity, it’s pretty successful. Anything higher and your candy or fudge will still have an amazing flavor, but it may not harden all the way or it may be tacky to touch (which is perfect for dipping).

This recipe is so easy and fool proof, no candy thermometer needed, I take the guess work out for ya! 

Here’s whatcha need when you’re making groceries:

1 cup of salted butter cubed (yup, I know, I do use salted butter and one cup = two sticks)

2 cups of light brown sugar packed

2 cups of confectionary sugar (powdered sugar)

1 five-ounce can of pet milk (go full fat, you’re making fudge, not worrying about a diet)

1 tsp of maple flavoring (I like watkins)

1/2 tsp of mexican vanilla extract (or any vanilla extract)

You’ll also need

A pot to cook it in

A mixer (hand held is fine)

A Wooden spoon

A metal mixing bowl

Parchment paper

Foil

4 clothes pins

An small, shallow baking pan (if you have a smaller toaster oven, use the little pan that comes with it- it’s the perfect size)

Some pecans or walnuts to scrape the side of the bowl because that’s whatcha do with the leftovers (don’t stick your finger in there, it’ll burn). 

Now here’s whatcha gonna do:

1. Line your pan with foil and cover it in parchment. Use clothes pins to keep the parchment taut

2. Measure ALL of your ingredients, make sure you pack your brown sugar, sha. It’s important! You can put your tsp of maple flavoring and the 1/2 tsp of vanilla in a single glass

3. Throw your butter in the pot, then add your 2 cups of brown sugar and 5 ounces of pet milk and integrate well

4. Put your powdered sugar in the mixing bowl and have your mixer set up and ready to go

5. Now, turn the fire on medium (I know, I know, you’re itching to get this sucker boilin, but “Patience, young crawfish, patience brings perfection!” as my grandma used to say). Stir that mix. Stir and stir and stir. You’re gonna stir pretty much the entire time until it comes to a boil. You can pause now and then to give your arm a break. No harm, but don’t let it sit for more than 20-30 seconds. 

6. Stir that pot ’til it boils. Once you see a nice boil, time 10 minutes (set an alarm, or three). No time to let the dog out or answer the phone, just stir and enjoy that beautiful aroma coming from that pot. Be careful, it burns if it pops on you. My momma always said ” Always have a bowl of cold water when you’re making fudge, pralines, or any boiled candy. Candy burns are the worst thing ever, Lola.” (one of my nicknames). And she was right. When I was making one of my first batches of pralines, I splashed them up my arm and a spew of naughty words flew out of my mouth faster than a water moccasin after its prey. That was my come to Jesus moment when I realized my momma’s tips really were hard learned lessons I didn’t have to relearn.

7. Once your timer goes off, remove heat BEFORE you add the vanilla and maple blend. Stir it in well and then dump the mixture into the mixing bowl of powdered sugar. 

8. Use your mixer on medium for 2 minutes, you want it smooth, you’ll notice it thickening up. Don’t let it start setting there, sha. Dump it into your prepared pan and smooth out the top. 

9. Now, you can either take a rubber spatula and scrape the entire bowl and make a little spoon sized lump of fudge (this helps you see how it sets faster) OR you can scrape the rest of the bowl with walnuts or pecans. Either way, doing this when you make fudge will allow you to see how your fudge is going to set up much faster than your pan of fudge. 

10. Once your pan of fudge is FULLY set, you can cut easily and exactly with a pizza cutter. Yes, my friends. A pizza cutter is PERFECT for brownies, fudge, cookie cake, and so much more.

Fudge is freezer friendly. Once it is FULLY set 100% you can wrap it in saran and store it in an airtight container at room temperature for 2-3 weeks. You can also store it in the fridge for up to a month and you can store it in the freezer for months. 

You can also take this maple fudge, make little balls, freeze them, and then dip them in Ghirardelli chocolate for maple filled chocolates.

2 thoughts on “Easy, creamy Maple Fudge

Leave a comment