The easiest, juiciest, fail-proof Turkey Breast ever

The holidays are quickly approaching and if this is your year to cook, then look no further! An Oven Roasted turkey breast is so much easier than most believe, every year, I cook a pre-Thanksgiving practice run to perfect my turkey, gravy, dressing, etc. It isn’t something I cook every week or even every month so this is my refresher and tweaker. Turkey freezes SO well and easily, it gives me a lot of easy meals. I typically go for the biggest turkey breast I can find.

I like the fresh turkey breast, but if you buy frozen, REMEMBER TO ALLOW your Turkey to defrost. You need a day for every FOUR POUNDS. Put it in a foil covered pan in the fridge and just let it do its thing. Poke it now and then in different places (each morning) to see how fast it is thawing.

One of the biggest mistakes people do is cook the turkey on Thanksgiving. This doesn’t give those seasonings a chance to really sink in and get absolutely ahhhmazing. So plan to make your turkey the day BEFORE your big day.

IMG_0109

Whatcha need when makin’ groceries:

  • A turkey breast (kinda important)
  • Celery (3 whole stalks and three finely chopped to add to your seasoning
  • 3-5 heaping tablespoons of Precut seasonings plus the three finely chopped celery pieces (I like Louisiana Creole Seasoning, you get it in the refrigerator / produce section. Guidry’s has too much of something and not the right mix). If you can’t get precut seasoning you need to finely chop celery,  garlic, sweet pepper, onions, and shallots)
  • Canola oil
  • Garlic powder
  • onion powder
  • Paprika
  • pepper
  • parsley flakes
  • Salt is optional (there’s so much in the other ingredients)
  • 1 box of chicken broth (I like Trader Joes, low sodium)
  • A roasting pan (I like the disposable ones), heavy duty foil (long)

Now let’s get to cooking. Turn on some great tunage (it is NOT THANKSGIVING YET, STAY AWAY FROM THE Christmas Music).

  1. Open your turkey and take out the bag inside (yes, there is a bag inside, yes you do need to reach in and take it out. It’s okay, it won’t kill you). That’s a bag of gravy, chuck that mediocre stuff in the rubbish – petewy!
  2. I like to rinse my turkey (I’m sorry, I’m super clean, I wash my sink ahead of time, I make sure the handles are covered in a towel I toss directly in the wash, and everything around me is disinfected (everything movable is relocated to prevent contamination) and when I’m done rinsing him, I sterilize everything again). You can skip this step if you want but still take out that bag of gravy.
  3. Preheat your oven to 425
  4. Place three whole stalks of celery in the bottom of the roasting pan
  5. Sit your turkey breast on top (you may need to prop him up with some balls of foil to help him sit in there)
  6. Shovel 3-5 heaping tablespoons of your precut seasoning into the pan in different areas (push it under and around your bird)
  7. Pour in some broth, I like to make sure the entire bottom is just covered
  8. Put about two tablespoons of canola oil in a dish, using a brush paint it onto your turkey
  9. Add your seasonings (garlic granules, onion powder, paprika, parsley flakes, and pepper and salt)
  10. Stick him in the oven for about 20-25 minutes (you want a nice golden look to the top)
  11. Take him out and baste that bird with some more canola, if the broth in the bottom is gone, add some to it. Cover the pan with foil (You’ll likely need the LONG foil) and tent the foil (cover two ends, leave the two long ends like a tent.
  12. LOWER THE OVEN TO 350 and Stick him back in for 20 minutes a pound, take him out every 30-40 minutes for basting.
  13. When it starts getting close, use a meat thermometer to ensure it reaches 165 degrees (that is CRUCIAL).
  14. On the last 20 to 30 minutes, turn your oven back to 435 and leave him uncovered to brown
  15. You must let the turkey rest (sit out) before carving it. Cut it in thick slices to keep it moist when reheating.
  16. Now use your juices for your gravy (which will be my next post)
  17. Now carve that turkey and take a taste- say it! “AIEEEEEEEEEEEEEE THAT’S A GOOOOOOD TURKEY!”

2 thoughts on “The easiest, juiciest, fail-proof Turkey Breast ever

Leave a comment